Member Login



Club History

Vancouver Rowing Club (VRC) is nestled in the northwest corner of Coal Harbour, with the beauty of Stanley Park on its northern boundary, and a modern city to the south. The land upon which the VRC clubhouse stands, and the surrounding waterways we enjoy while engaging in our sport, is the unceded traditional territory of the Coast Salish Peoples of the Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil Waututh First Nations.

Originally formed in 1886 as the Vancouver Boating Club, we are Vancouver’s oldest amateur sporting organization. The original clubhouse was relocated in 1905 from the south side of the harbour to our current site. In 1911, a new clubhouse was constructed and the building received heritage designation in 1990 from City of Vancouver. The club has four sections: Rowing, Rugby, Field Hockey and Yachting. The Yachting Section, originally called the Mooring Section, was founded in 1926 with the club’s first organized sailing races beginning in 1927. Presently, the Yachting Section has approximately 500 members and our moorage facility can accommodate up to 230 boats.


The Vancouver Rowing Club Yachting Section is a community united by our passion for cruising and racing. We foster relationships through education, mentorship, social engagement, and volunteerism.


The Vancouver Rowing Club will be the best value, most fun, and inclusive yacht club in Greater Vancouver.  


  • Sharing knowledge through mentorship and collaboration

  • Welcoming people of all ages, communities, cultures, and abilities

  • Providing a safe harbour for members, their families, and friends

  • Embracing an eclectic mix of personalities

  • Collaborating through active participation and volunteerism

  • Protecting and preserving the ocean and marine environment


The Vancouver Rowing Club Yachting Section provides value to members through:

  • Access to outstations and cruises

  • A competitive racing program

  • Educational opportunities  

  • Mentorship and sharing of knowledge

  • Social engagement

  • Community connections

  • Extensive facilities

Committee members: Dwayne Anderson, Kat Blades, Andrea Gretchev, Paul Heeney, Mark Kowall February 2021